What are the principles of trauma informed care?

What are the principles of trauma informed care?

In the field of healthcare and social services, understanding and addressing the impact of trauma on individuals is essential. The principles of trauma-informed care provide a framework that recognises the widespread prevalence of trauma and emphasises creating environments that foster safety, trust, and healing. Here we share the six principles of trauma informed care.
1. Safety

Prioritise physical and emotional safety for individuals who have experienced trauma. This involves creating an environment that is free from harm, promoting a sense of security, and ensuring individuals feel safe in disclosing their experiences.

You can learn more about these issues by undertaking trauma informed practice training from a provider such as https://www.tidaltraining.co.uk/mental-health-training-courses/trauma-informed-practice-training.

Image credit

2. Trustworthiness and transparency

Build trust by being transparent and maintaining clear communication. Establishing trustworthiness is essential in fostering positive relationships, as individuals who have experienced trauma may have trust-related challenges.

3. Peer support and empowerment:

Recognise and foster the value of peer support. Encourage individuals who have experienced trauma to share experiences and support one another. Empowerment is key, so provide opportunities for autonomy, self-expression, and active participation in decision-making.

4. Collaboration and mutuality

Emphasise collaboration and mutuality by fostering shared decision-making and partnerships. Recognise the importance of collective efforts in the healing process. It is important to ensure individuals actively collaborate with professionals, creating a sense of shared responsibility.

5. Empowerment and choice

Prioritise empowerment by offering individuals a sense of control and autonomy. Acknowledge and respect their voice and choices, allowing them to actively participate in decisions regarding their care and treatment.

6. Cultural, historical, and gender sensitivity

Be aware of and responsive to the cultural, historical and gender-specific needs of individuals. Recognise the diversity of experiences and backgrounds, and tailor interventions to be sensitive and respectful of cultural nuances.

Image credit